Uncategorized · witchcraft

30 Day Magical Roots Challenge – Day 3

william-randles-283237
Image by William Randles on Unsplash

This challenge was designed by Plentiful Earth, and is intended to help you revisit your magical roots–or, if you are new to the Craft, set them down to begin with. You can do the challenge privately, or you can post about your progress on social media. Personally, I am posting about the challenge here on my blog, and also on my Instagram account. If you’d like to play along, you can find the prompts here.

Day 3: Centering/Breath-work

Spend 5 minutes today (and every day this challenge) focusing on your breath. Notice your breath as it enters and leaves your body. Try alternating between breathing in through the left nostril and out through the right. Use your fingers to close each nostril if you need the extra assistance. Try to increase this from 5 minutes to more as you do this every day this month.

Here the challenge and I run into our first mild difference of opinion, as I don’t consider centering and breath work to be quite the same thing, although I do employ breath work while centering. My favorite method of centering is the soul alignment practiced in the Feri tradition; I am not an initiate of this tradition, but they have good spiritual tech, and as I believe wholeheartedly in availing myself of good tech, I’ve taught myself some of it from books.

In other breath work situations (meditation, preparing for readings, etc.) my go-to is the classic “breathe in for four counts, hold for four, out for four, hold for four.” I’ve never successfully practiced pranayama (the alternate nostril  breathing described above) until today; this site helped, if you haven’t tried it yet and would like to.  I DID find the technique to be very calming and centering, and plan to add it to my practice.

