Custom order showcase: Brigid ritual cord and 108-bead mala

In February, a client commissioned me to make BOTH a ritual cord and a 108-bead gemstone mala for her patroness, the Celtic goddess Brigid. (Yes, you CAN commission me to make more than one item at a time! I’ve had a few people say things like “I don’t want to overload you” when considering placing commissions–but you guys, this is my livelihood that helps support my household and feed my cats. Even though self-employed, I live largely “paycheck to paycheck” just as many of you probably do–so believe me, the more work I get, the better!)

For both the ritual cord and the mala, the client requested that a sterling silver Brigid’s cross be used, but she also had a second, slightly more unusual request: that I pyrograph Brigid’s name in Ogham script on slips of wood to be somehow attached to both items. (She left it up to me how to do this.) This was especially exciting for me because (as regular readers of this blog know) I have recently begun to work with the goddess Morrigan, and one of Her assignments for me is to learn Ogham and to work with it alongside the runes. This project was my first opportunity to use Ogham in my artwork, and I’m very pleased with the results!

For the ritual cord, my client requested that I make the fiber resemble fire opal as much as possible, with all of the flashes of color contained in that gorgeous stone. For reference, here is what fire opal looks like:

Weis-Emil Opals-FireOpal

And here is how the cord turned out:

IMG_4604 IMG_4605 IMG_4614 IMG_4615

The fiber is wool blended with bits of silk and faux cashmere, completely hand dyed, hand blended and hand spun by me.

For the mala, my client selected carnelian, milky quartz, and citrine–the combination of three different stones being very appropriate to Brigid’s nature as the triple goddess of poetry, healing, and smithcraft. I hit upon the idea of using the slip of wood as the meru bead, and for both the ritual cord and the mala the wood was first pyrographed and then finished with golden oak stain. The beads were individually hand-knotted onto golden silk cord and finished with a scarlet silk tassel.

All of the materials to be used in the mala were smudged with white sage, and I worked in a ritual space, offering an invocatory prayer to Brigid beforehand along with a mantra that was repeated each time a bead was strung. About 5-6 hours of energy work went into this mala, including the creation of the pyrographed tag.

IMG_4584

IMG_4592 IMG_4597 IMG_4599

I AM currently available for custom work on any scale–big or small–and at any level of simplicity or complexity. (I actually have a few more custom order showcase posts to share with you in the coming days–hopefully to give you some ideas of what you might want me to help you create!)

If you’d like to discuss a custom project, please don’t hesitate to contact me via Etsy anytime at all!

11 thoughts on “Custom order showcase: Brigid ritual cord and 108-bead mala

  1. Oooh, so nice. Both of these are amazing. You know the cord reminds me of the planetary Mercury cord I got from you a few years back minus the pendant. Blessings.

  2. There is a vague possibility that in my mind I am shrieking over how amazing both of these pieces are.

  3. This is almost spooky because of a Brigid dream I had last night. The Ogham meru bead is amazing and I love the colors on both the cord and the mala! Could you do a meru bead that was a yantra (geometric diagram that represents a Deity’s seal in Hinduism & Buddhism) if the yantra had the same little holes drilled into it at the top and bottom?

    • It’s possible. I would have to see it to know whether my (admittedly rather rudimentary) woodburning skills would be equal to the task. 🙂

Comments are closed.