Words from Hephaestos: If I was coming to your ritual

THIS. So very much this. Thank you Thenea, and Hephaistos!

Magick From Scratch

For my entire existence, I have struggled with a deformity in my leg. I can walk, but it’s slow, and it hurts me.

Hermes, Apollon, Ares, all the gods, really, would outpace me no matter how slowly they tried to walk. They weren’t ever mean about it. They just always forgot.

Everyone forgot. My own temples had stairs. MY OWN TEMPLES HAD STAIRS. That was just how they made temples, and no one ever gave it a second thought.

I want you to know that there are people out there who you aren’t thinking about. Maybe they have an illness, visible or otherwise, and easily get tired. Maybe they have a physical issue that makes stairs painful or impossible. Maybe they can’t read your handouts because they have a visual impairment. Maybe they can’t hear your inspiring speeches when your back is to them.

This is all I ask: give it…

View original post 135 more words

3 thoughts on “Words from Hephaestos: If I was coming to your ritual

  1. It takes a lot of energy trying to look normal and be cheerful when you have chronic ailments too. Difficult with invisible ailments too, like bi-polar and Aspergers.

    • Very true! I know that I personally have so much more energy for getting things done now that I’m working from home and not in a setting where I need to interact with others all day. Projecting the company persona required of me by my ex-job took a LOT of energy. (This is also why I don’t really have a social life; I have to choose what’s important to me and can’t afford to do everything.)

Comments are closed.