Debuting my Elemental Yarns!

I’ve been working on a new set of colorways and was so excited about this one, I couldn’t wait to share the first three yarns with you even though I haven’t finished the entire series yet.  This series is very special because all of the colorways are inspired by the elements (earth, air, fire, and water) in all their varying moods, and there will be more yarns to come in this line! These first three skeins are all made from Falkland wool top, kettle dyed by me.

I try to source all of my wool locally or, failing that, domestically.  Falkland is an exception to that, but as I hope you’ll agree it has other features that make it special.  It isn’t a sheep breed but refers to wool grown in the Falkland Islands. These sheep mostly consist of Polwarths, Merinos, Corriedale, and some Romneys. There are no known sheep diseases on the island, so the sheep are not subjected to chemical dips to control pests, and local farmers do not use chemical fertilizers or herbicides due to the cost of importing them. As a result, this wool meets organic standards and is chemical-free. It’s also soft, squishy, and indulgent!

The following colorways have just been listed in my shop

Elemental Earth: Riverbank.  The relaxing yet invigorating shades of a sunny riverbank, this skein makes me want to dip my toes into cool water! This two ply aran weight skein was spun from Falkland wool top, kettle dyed by me in a refreshing palette of grass green, olive, aqua, bronze, copper, and rust.
100_8798

Elemental Air: Reverie. A soft breeze, a sprinkling of spring flowers, and daydreams on a lazy afternoon: these are the things this yarn calls to mind for me! This two ply aran weight skein was spun from Falkland wool top, kettle dyed by me in a soft, airy palette of powder blue, sky blue, bubble gum pink, soft peach, baby coral, mauve, lavender, and ecru.

100_8468

And finally (for now), Elemental Fire: Hearth. Picture a softly crackling forest campfire, glowing in the cool shadows of a summer evening. This two ply aran weight skein was spun from Falkland wool top, kettle dyed by me in a warm, cozy palette of harvest gold, ochre, maize, soft yellow, bronze, and burnt orange, with flickers of fiery red.

100_8501

You can take a look at any of these over at my Etsy shop!

 

One thought on “Debuting my Elemental Yarns!

  1. Pingback: Love her work | My Wiccan Walk

Comments are closed.