On Faith and Community Politics

There is so much good stuff in this post, it’s hard to single any particular statement out. There are important reminders here that those of us who are god-touched are not necessarily more special, more loved, or more fortunate in life than other pagans (in fact, depending on the deity, you could find it making your life a lot harder than it would otherwise have been). However, the thing that really resonated the most for me–and the reason I’m reblogging this–is Elizabeth’s thoughts on community. I too have become very disheartened by the polytheist/pagan community recently, in particular because of all of the infighting, and she raises some very good points about how utterly pointless and counterproductive all of that is. I have tried not to get pulled into this last round because it always ends up being a huge time-suck for me, taking time away from all of the actually important projects on my plate, and leaving me with bad feelings about everyone concerned. I’ve been guilty of making snide remarks and throwaway derisive comments from time to time too, though I’m trying to prune that tendency in myself, but withdrawing into my own little box and giving up on community is not the answer either. Recently I did a business-oriented exercise that asked what legacy you would like to leave the world with after you’ve moved on from this plane. That really got me thinking. To think of it in fiber-related terms, would I rather help weave a beautiful fabric, or would I rather be one of the ones who sits there cutting that fabric apart, and shredding everyone else’s work. There is no question in my mind that I would rather it be the former than the latter, so I need to be more conscious of that as I go forward into this next year. Let the weaving begin.

2 thoughts on “On Faith and Community Politics”

  1. Another reason to admire you, dear Beth; using your beloved fibre arts to recast this latest round of nastiness into visual terms.

Comments are closed.