On July, and the Tour de Fleece

In light of certain activities (maybe in this case I should say “lack of activities”?) being planned elsewhere in the blogosphere, some of you may have been waiting for me to announce whether or not I’d be continuing to blog during the month of July.  To be clear: yes, I will be continuing in all of my online activities throughout the month of July, and seidhr will also happen, although the date will be changing.  (I’ll save that for a separate post.)  I’m not necessarily going to go out of my way to blog more than I usually do (as I had initially thought I might), since I had already set aside the summer months for getting fleece washed and dyed and catching up on my spinning, having made the decision to work towards turning my hobby fiber business into a profit-making venture.  However, when I have something to say I will go ahead and say it, either here or on my PaganSquare blog, Threads, just as you have all grown to expect from me.  (Smartass comment regarding sheep deleted from this space, in the interest of not stirring the pot.  One of the things I share with my Dis, Queen Anne Boleyn, is an almost reflexively razor-sharp tongue, along with a tendency to spot the pun in nearly every situation; Odin for the most part delights in this, though I’ve learned from Frigga that sometimes it’s best to restrain myself.  I think this is one of those instances.)

Given the above, at first I thought I would be refraining from the trend of making July a themed month of any kind. A few of my online friends and acquaintances will be participating in the Month for Loki, devoting the entire month to blogging about Him.  While I applaud this project and I may have a couple of things to contribute (including a photo of the very special seidhr crown He recently gifted me with, in collaboration with a new friend), Loki–for all that I love Him dearly–is not my Husband, and as I have yet to do an entire month of dedicated blogging for my own Husband as of yet, I think my participating whole-hog in this would be bad form.  I do want to boost the signal for it though, hence the mention here!

July is a spiritually dry month for me personally, as far as festivals are concerned; although we will be doing something for Loki for Lokabrenna Day and Jolene has a weeklong festival she created for Poseidon which commences next weekend, for the most part July, these past few years, has been about spinning, which works for me since July and August are also the two months during which I have the worst digestive issues, so it’s best for me to avoid pushing myself excessively with heavy woo stuff during this time period.

However, just today I learned that a number of handspinners online (via Ravelry and their own blogs) are participating in a month-long spinning event inspired by the Tour de France: the Tour de Fleece!  This begins today and runs until Sunday July 21st, nicely encompassing most of the month of July.  (Egads, I can’t imagine bicycling through France through what I presume is the hottest part of the year for them, too–or close to it, anyway!)

From the Ravelry page, here are the event guidelines:

Guidelines (NOT RULES):

  1. Spin every day the Tour rides, if possible. Saturday June 29th through Sunday July 21st. Days of rest: Monday July 8th and Monday July 15th. (Just like the actual tour.)

  2. Spin something challenging on the challenge day (usually the toughest high mountain stage: this year, it’s Stage 18, on Thursday, July 18th, when they climb Alpe d’Huez twice).

  3. Wear yellow on Sunday July 21st to announce victory. Why not wear yellow on any day you feel particularly successful? (Yellow is the color of the race leader in the Tour – but here we are all ‘race leaders’)

Other colors if desired: Green (sprinter – think FAST), Polka-dot (climber – as in uphill), and white (rookie).

I have marked my daybook with the dates and joined the Ravelry group, although I suspect I won’t have a lot of time to participate in the forum discussions there.  For the most part, I will simply be making an effort to spin every day, in so far as possible.  Since all I have to spin are my own hand-processed and hand dyed fibers, that is what I’ll be using.  I hope to complete at least ten skeins of yarn during this time period, although since I have a few custom ritual cord orders I need to complete I am being a bit lenient with myself and counting those as skeins too(since they are–just small ones).  I will be blogging here about my progress, although if you want to keep up with my activities on a more day to day basis you may want to “like” my FiberWytch Facebook fans page, which I’ll be updating more frequently.  I will post photos of works in progress and completed works as I go!

4 thoughts on “On July, and the Tour de Fleece”

  1. So did you in fact make it in?

    I am hoping to get some energy and time to blog in July. Too many ideas, not enough hours in the day for me to flesh them all out yet.

Comments are closed.