Shrine Plaques for minimal space in domestic worship

Lykeia is an amazing artist and I highly recommend her work. We have one of her paintings already (a commissioned portrait of Jo’s dog Angel riding in the Hunt with Odin), and she is currently working on another commissioned work for me, a marital portrait of Odin and myself. We are both eyeing these new shrine plaques as a perfect solution to our limited space for shrines. and I already have several in mind I want to commission (for starters, an Odin one for next to my bed, and possibly a combo one for Bragi, Thor and Loki, since the three of Them seem to enjoy each other’s company so much).

Beloved in Light

Recently I have gotten on a huge kick making shrine-plaques. That is my word for an old idea. There are many ancient images which are set up to look like the front of a temple with the deity (or deities) of the temple standing within it. I am of the opinion that these probably would have been popular among those who made pilgrimages to holy sites to bring back to worship the god in their homes, or were otherwise just readily available for household worship. I have had two people upon seeing my shrine-plaques in fact compare them with lararium which are a very similar concept. Of course these shrine plaques are far less expensive to make than my statues and also are quicker to make too as they are two dimensional rather than 3 dimensional lol. This is of course a boon to me and customers both because I can…

View original post 407 more words

