Queen Anne’s Day in photos

Yesterday morning we started out early with our basket of offerings, walked the two miles to the Owen Memorial Rose Garden Here in Eugene, read aloud the beautiful prayers submitted for Anne, and shared a picnic brunch with her consisting of local and artisan foods and French rose wine.  In previous years with this festival, too much of my emphasis has been on the horror of how Anne died, but She much prefers our thoughts to be on how she lived (for her downfall and death was but a small portion of that).  She may have lived for all too brief a time, but during that time She shone brightly (as She does still), and changed the fate not only of a nation but of people everywhere: passionate reformer, advocate of access to conversation with the Divine for all, lady whose every action was steeped in glamour and style, wife, mother, Queen.

Enjoy the photos!

6 thoughts on “Queen Anne’s Day in photos”

  1. Reblogged this on Strip Me Back To The Bone and commented:
    I’m cheating here, and I know it. Beth posted a bit about our festival for Queen Anne Boleyn yesterday, with some beautiful photos. This is the second one I’ve tagged along for, the first one I’ve been involved in. She, and the other Queens who have become part of Beth’s Family, have slowly started making themselves known to me, as well. It’s . . . interesting. It is somewhat easy to feel a kinship with Queen Anne, and her amazing legacy. I was brought up Protestant, various traditions that owe their existence to her influence. I can read, and have read, the Bible in my language, thanks to Queen Anne. She believed strongly that the Divine should available to everyone — yeah, I can get behind that, too. She carved her path, her life, despite what others might have thought she ought to be doing, and she was scorned as greatly as she was loved. We want, during these festivals for her, marked by the anniversary of her execution, to honor her life and her legacy, to honor the light she was in this world, and her far-reaching influences that come down through the centuries. We want to honor more than just one moment in her life, and I hope that we succeeded. I think that we did.

  2. A general comment: I had originally planned to cook a Tudor-era meal as I had said before, but due to pressure both from Odin and the Lady herself, in light of my recent concussion, things were simplified a bit. Jo and I both feel She really enjoyed the picnic though–as she was an outdoorsy person who grew up in the Kentish countryside near Hever Castle, loved to hunt with Henry, etc.–so we will probably do it this way again, even if next time there are foods that have been prepared in advance to take along, such as cold mincemeat pie.

    1. I watched Anne’s Last Days this weekend and very much enjoyed it, but thank you for posting the link! I was fortunate enough to find this one posted to the Anne Boleyn Files in Facebook; the original BBC link isn’t playable from the US.

Comments are closed.