Reblogging this saves me from having to write my own review of this book, so yay! I will add that for me, reading this turned out to be a kind of devotional activity for some of my spirits who are/were Christian, primarily (with its emphasis on studying the Bible and attempting to apply it to one’s life–something she and her brother both advocated) Anne Boleyn. Also, it isn’t that Odin is against compassion or loving kindness, per se, it’s just that He is extremely selective about where He (and thus, His followers) choose to dispense those things (only where they are deserved, in other words). Frigga and the Queens, however, have insisted on my embrace of the art of graciousness, which is a mixture of compassion, humility, and noblesse oblige, and this book was helpful as a study in that.

Strip Me Back To The Bone

. . . but then again, maybe not.

Recently for our story-time, we read Rachel Held Evans’ A Year of Biblical Womanhood, which I discovered thanks to Allyson (Thanks, Allyson!) I’d started reading it alone, but the book was simply too endearing to keep to myself, and I wasn’t sure that it was a book Beth would ever read on her own, if left to her druthers, and so, story-time book it became! (Also, I kept stopping to share bits of it with her anyway, so I may as well just read it to her, I figured.) Corbie can somehow tell fiction from non, even when it’s a nice story, and he seems to have little tolerance for religious books of any type, so he spend most of the time looking forlorn and dejected. (He likes adventure stories!) The cats, however, all came into the bedroom for story-time, which…

View original post 725 more words

