Reblogging this because the seriousness of this type of commitment (see my last post regarding my own Sacred Marriage vows to Odin ten years ago) can never be stressed enough. Not only that, but if you are serious about your vows, make no mistake: your commitment will be sorely tested, and your life will change irrevocably. As Heather mentions in her post, it is sad but true that often people of the monotheistic faiths seem to understand this better than many pagans do, but then paganism has been so widely promoted as a path of rebellion, of doing what feels good and then quitting when you no longer feel like doing it. This level of commitment means sticking to it even when you hit the rough patches (and you will); it is for a lifetime and beyond. Also, the monotheistic faiths have structures in place (monasteries, convents, etc.) to support this type of intensely devoted religious lifestyle. Perhaps some of the pagan faiths would too, if they had been allowed to continue unbroken until the present day.

7 thoughts on “”

  1. I had seen the original post and found it something that I agreed a great deal with, and I agree with your statements. It is of course also important to keep in mind, naturally, that such commitments vary from person to person and don’t always look the same. We are a diverse bunch with our own oaths, relationships etc. But it is never something that is taken lightly.

    1. Oh yes, the form they take can definitely vary, because each person (and each god) is different. I think it’s very important to keep that in mind, too; I think too many of the newer godspouses try (with the best intentions) to base their relationships on what other people are doing. I was guilty of this myself at first, but people who stick with it will eventually find their own way.

      1. Absolutely. Because of this we also should keep in mind not to judge each other either. Just because one may have a relationship with a particular deity doesn’t mean that have any place to comment on others relationships with the same or different deities for those very reasons. And you are right no one should expect that what they will experience will mirror the experience of others.

        1. I agree that it is not our place to judge; what happens between any individual and their deity is between the two of them. There have been a couple of instances over the years where I have not approved or felt right about what a person was doing, but perhaps that was what they needed, even if I personally felt it was not appropriate. It’s not really for me or anyone else to say, and if the god disapproves He/She will have Their way of making that known to the person in question, in no uncertain terms. The only time I comment anymore about what a specific person is doing is when that person comes to me asking for my advice–or Odin’s.

    2. that such commitments vary from person to person and don’t always look the same

      *perks up* You’re singing my song! ;o)

      In a bizarre way, I value the moments when I catch myself thinking critical thoughts of what others seem to be doing based on what they write about, because I do actually think that’s a useless exercise. For example, I live with Beth, but I only know of her relationship with Odin what she chooses to share, and likewise, I don’t share every detail of my relationship with Poseidon with her, because so much of it is beyond words. I like catching myself with critical thoughts because it allows for deeper self-examination and a chance to maybe correct behavior in myself.

      I find that the bulk of the hard criticism comes in regards to sharing things publicly that I would not have shared, and I realize that’s more about my not being comfortable with both the idea of sharing intimate details of my own and not being comfortable seeing intimate details from other people . . . and I acknowledge that that’s my own thing and no one else’s issue to deal with, so I try to keep that in mind.

      Emphasis on ‘try’. πŸ˜‰

      1. For example, I live with Beth, but I only know of her relationship with Odin what she chooses to share

        Not exactly true. Often, you also know what He tells you. ;P

Comments are closed.