Here we go again…

I’ve come to this same realization before. You’d think I would have learned by now that separating my work from my Work is never going to…well, work. The oaths I have taken are such that there’s really no way it can.

At any rate, my latest notion that it would be a great idea to completely separate my budding fiber business from everything else I do and try to secularize it? Not so much. Already the skeins I’m making are dripping with symbolic colors, references to folklore and fairy tales, and hidden meanings. And while I’m sure some of you out there are saying hey, it’s only yarn, as I’ve mentioned before on this blog there is a wealth of tradition and spiritual meaning incorporated into the act of spinning. It conjures up images of Rumplestiltzkin, Sleeping Beauty, and the Norns; it forges connections with the magic of the sagas, with Frigga and the other northern goddesses, and with all sorts of non-northern mythological figures from Spider Woman to the Fates. It also occurs to me that trying to secularize my spinning would be a mistake, even if I could do it, because my background as a witch, an Odin’s woman, and someone whose life is centered around the gods and spirits is part of what sets me apart as a spinner (and as an artist in other mediums, and as a person in general).

So, where does this leave my plans for Fensalir Fiber? Not very far from where they were; I still think it makes sense to have a separate Etsy store for it, and to forge a brand identity for the business that’s related to, yet distinct from, my existing Wytch of the North store (http://wytchofthenorth.etsy.com, which will continue to focus on jewelry and various other witchy sundries). I have decided, however, that it doesn’t make so much sense to be struggling to maintain a separate blog for the yarn store, since at times it’s a challenge for me to keep one blog supplied with fresh content, let alone two. Besides, I remember a few readers of this blog expressing disappointment that my adventures in spinning, dyeing and assorted other fiber arts would be migrating over to a different blog, since those activities really do merge quite well with my spiritual path as a whole. (Also, I don’t blame people for not being overly enthusiastic about having yet another blog to add to their reading list.) For these reasons, Fensalir Fiber and Wytch of the North will be sharing a Facebook fan page and Twitter account too, when I manage to get both of those set up.

This isn’t necessarily a permanent decision; if my fiber store becomes wildly successful at some point in the future it may make sense to establish a separate blog for it again. Or, then again, it may not. (See my opening paragraph, above.) It’s possible that, if at some future date I’m supporting myself to some extent with my crafts and not working full time, this may be something worth doing. But for now, it’s making things a lot harder for me than they need to be.

Over the coming days, I will be copying the posts made at Fensalir Fiber over here, in the interest of making the merger complete (and just in case anyone’s missed them).

Meanwhile? I’ve been doing a lot of seasonal reading (Fairy Tale Rituals, Wolfsangel, and The Witches’ Book of the Dead, reviews of all of which will be forthcoming at some point soon), struggling with exhaustion and flirting with sickness as a side effect of Jo’s boss having decided she needed to work a 7-4 schedule for the past two weeks, and still haven’t gotten the rest of my first batch of yarns uploaded to the Etsy store, let alone finished designing my business cards and other marketing materials (which are all going to be redone, eventually, for Wytch of the North too). I’ve been doing a little less spinning than usual but a fair amount of dyeing using Jacquard acid dyes, and am contemplating offering rovings for spinning in addition to finished skeins. I’m very much looking forward to the Samhain vacation Jo and I have coming up next week—October 26th through November 2nd), even though this time of year continues to promise to be a real season of death for us, as usual (Sassy, my elderly Maine Coon, is still on the decline) rather than merely a symbolic one.

At any rate, currently the plan is to have the new Etsy store uploaded by the first week of November for real, since at that point I need to turn my attention to producing an entirely different set of yarns for a vending opportunity at my job starting 11/21 and running for two weeks (just in time for Black Friday!). More soon!

11 thoughts on “Here we go again…”

  1. Hello!
    Just wanted to say that I have just now happened upon your blog; wonderful reading. It echoes some of the things I have been interested in lately, or have been drawn to, or need to find out more about. And, I must say I also eagerly await your etsy yarn-shop! I don’t do any spinning myself, but am going to try and learn this art (hopefully). Thanks for all the food for thought.

    1. Thank you! I’m glad to know you’re enjoying it; hopefully I will actually get some new stuff posted in the coming weeks. 🙂

      Spinning is an amazing practice–very meditative and soothing! I encourage everyone (who’s interested, anyway) to learn how to do it; if there are any questions I can help with, let me know!

  2. I don’t have nearly the spiritual obligations on me that you do, but I know whenever I think to compartmentalize my life I start getting very testy and all ideas go quickly to pieces. Of course I also don’t get a lot of overt instruction in how to get everything to flow together. *shakes head*

    Hopefully the vacation will be very good to you both. Are you reading anything additional with the wolfsangel? The wolf stuff in my own life keeps increasing, to where I have a chance to see one up close this weekend.

  3. I know I tease you about the separate blog thing (if only you’d remember that I am always right) but I can only talk so much since I, too, have two blogs going at the same time. I post more to my book blog than I do to my religious blog, and internally I go back and forth about whether to have one or two. Having content for two is hard; at the same time, the book blog is done in hopes that it’ll help me spread the word about my work as it comes out, and I don’t really want that on a blog that I started to write about my Poseidon worship. (Now, that one shouldn’t have been so narrowly focused in its conception stage, maybe. I don’t have any “Poseidon worship” so much as worship and devotion, and trying to distill it makes things turn off for me). I don’t necessarily want potential readers to have to wade through religious talk, ya know?

    So, it makes sense, in some cases. But not always, and ultimately you need to do what’s right for you. Compartmentalizing always makes things turn off, for you. So, quit it, already 😉 (Unless it suddenly starts to make more sense . . .)

    1. I think it makes more sense for you to have two blogs, considering that, athough your writing definitely spills over into the spiritual, it isn’t explicitly on spiritual subject matters and I can understand not wanting readers to necessarily have to deal with the pagan element. Which is what I ad thought abut my yarn store, and eventualy I may separate them a little more, depending on how things go. But for now, just starting out–well, I have more of an audience for the pagan stuff, frankly. I hope some of that will help attract people to the yarn store, since the fiber arts are popular in pagan circes and I am exploring themes I think will appeal to them (since I’m pagan and they appeal to me)..

      Both of your blogs are awesome, by the way!

  4. Is Wolfsangel a book or are you doing some research on it? The reason I ask is I’ve been working with the medieval healing runes lately (of which wolfsangel it one). If it’s a book, I’d love some more information.

    1. It’s a novel: http://www.amazon.com/Wolfsangel-Craw-Trilogy-MD-Lachlan/dp/0575089598. I was listing books I’ve been reading and this was one of them; sorry if I was unclear! 🙂

      Can I ask your source for Wolfsangel as a medieval rune of healing? I’ve seen references to this usage online, but do you know if there’s any historical basis to it or if it is a modern UPG? (Not that I have anything against the latter, of course, just wondering if the writers present any sources; I wouldn’t be surprised if they can’t, since concrete historical information on using the runes in magic is difficult to find.)

      1. Thanks for that link for the book. That sounds like a good read!

        I haven’t come across many sources for the medieval healing runes. I’ve only found them mentioned in two of Nigel Pennick’s books so far. He doesn’t give sources for the information either. I’d love to ask him about it. Anybody got an email addy for him?

        I’m drawn to them though. They appear to be largely bindrunes with God and Goddess associations and have interesting energy. I’m particularly intrigued by Wendhorn, Wan and Fyruedal, variations on Algiz to my eyes. This next bit is personal UPG but I sense a link to DNA with them and DNA related diseases and healing processes.

        1. Wow, Shelley, I am so sorry! I completely missed this comment (along with one from my partner); it’s been a rough few weeks with the loss of Sassy, and it looks like your comment was posed at about that same time. Still, I apologize! I have read some Pennick, but will need to go back and refresh my memory; this sounds intriguing!

      2. No problem, Beth. I figured you had a lot on your plate especially since you lost your beautiful kitty. My condolences on that too. Have you ever read the Rainbow Bridge poem about our special animal companions crossing over? I find it very uplifting especially when I lost an animal friend. If you haven’t read it before and would like a copy I can email you one.

Comments are closed.