Of dogs and yarn

The elderberry yarns I posted pics of yesterday were NOT recently spun, only recently (ish) dyed; they predate my new flyer, and in fact were among the first skeins I spun and finished after getting the wheel.  Here’s a look at the new flyer (not stained yet) with some just-plied white Shetland I spun over the weekend.  Unfortunately, there is no way to gauge the yarn diameter just fromm this picture (I’ll show some of the new stuff next to some of the older stuff at some point, for comparison), but take my word for it, it is a LOT thinner.  The skein on the bobbin ended up being about 80 yards.  While there are times when I’ll want thicker yarns, I don’t want to be forced to have them just by default so this is definitely an improvement.

And here’s a pic of my poor pup, looking pitiful in his cage:

For those of you who practice various healing modalities, any and all healing and calming energies you’d like to send would be more than welcome!

Today I opened a small bag of Navajo Churro purchased at Black Sheep Gathering and found…ta da, a dead carpet beetle.  My first fiber pest.  I won’t be buying from THAT seller again.  Of course I put the bag in the outside trash, and then (since I had started spinning the Churro before I found the beatle) swept the floor around the spinning wheel (where I’d had some of the locks laid out), washed my flicker brush, and changed my clothes.  My precious Jacob fleece was in a pillowcase on my bed a short distance away, but it’s been stored someplace entirely different and I had JUST taken the Churro out, so hopefully there was no cross-contamination.  I’m going to regard everything that’s been in the bin with the Churro as potentially suspect, though, and stick all of it in the storage shed (where I have a No Pest Strip) for a few days.  Hopefully that will be the end of it.  Blech.

I am impressed at my ability to respond to this without exciting the dog, though.

2 thoughts on “Of dogs and yarn”

  1. You could also put any fiber in the freezer for a while, in a plastic bag of course. That should kill any creepy crawlies.

    1. I thought of that, but according to Judith MacKenzie McCuin it doesn’t necessarily work; it will kill the adults, but some of the larvae will just go into hibernation and just start eating again once the temperature goes up. I usually don’t like to use chemicals, and they are banned from our house because we have so many pets, but I maintain my “kill shed” (which is entirely separate from the house, about 20 feet away) for exactly this purpose. I may start quarantining anything new that comes in, especially as I start to acquire more whole fleeces.

Comments are closed.