Dog trauma

As I indicated in my comments to another post, I’ve been neglecting this blog this past week because of an injured pooch.  This is Corbie J, shown here with Jo at a trip to the rose garden  few weeks ago:

He’s our mixed breed foundling, rescued from the mean streets of Philadelphia (PA, where we used to live) a couple of years before we made the big move out west.  He’s sweet, kind of crazy and hyper, and all around The Best Dog Ever.

He woke up screaming in pain on Wednesday morning, unable to bend his head down, and favoring his right front leg.  Jo thought she had kicked him in her sleep, so for the first couple of days we assumed it was likely a sprain or a pulled muscle.  Yet there were signs that, in retospect, should have clued us in that it was something more serious than that, especially his inability to bend his neck and his restlessness.  At times he would stand up and just stand there shaking, unable to decide how or whether to move next, and this was truly horrible to watch.

I stayed home with home on Wednesday, since that’s a half day for me at work anyway over the summer, and then Jo stayed home Thursday and Friday.  On Friday, the mobile vet came to see him (with his weird pain symptoms, we wouldn’t have dared to try to transport him to the vet’s office, even if we had a car), and pronounced the verdict: a slipped disk in his neck.

This is apparently something dogs with his body type (low, elongated, Dachshund-esque) are prone towards, regardless of age, and even if he recovers fully this time, it may well recur.  And it’s fairly serious.  He’s on Prednisone to reduce the swelling, but as it goes down and he starts to feel better (which is already happening) there is a chance that he’ll get too active, the disk will slip further, and he’ll paralyze himself.  For this reason, we have our hyper, active little dog in a cage.  IF the medicine doesn’t alleviate the problem, he will need surgery–which isn’t likely, since he’s obviously already feeling MUCH better.  However, even if the medicine IS effective, he will need to be kept relatively inactive for about 4-6 weeks, or until the vet says it’s okay for him to resume his normal level of activity.  Needless to say, he is going to hate this, and is already emo dog, looking extremely sad about being locked up.

We’re staying in the room with him (we have the cage in the bedroom, with the cats banned, to cut down on the level of activity around him)  as much as possible this weekend because he prefers that, and I will be calling out tomorrow to stay with him since it will be his first day or reduced medication, but after that he’s going to have to adjust to being along for long periods of time in a cage.  Which breaks my heart, but we’ll do whatever needs to be done to get him well again.

I’ll be resuming active posting here this week, but in the meantime I’d likely to direct you all to my partner’s blog, where she’s just posted an insightful, thought-provoking essay on the value of pagan modesty, and how her thoughts on the subject play into her choice to wear a head covering.

I also picked up my new flyer yesterday (pictures soon), have been spinning some Shetland at a fine diameter not previously possible with my wheel, and am probably going to ply and finish a few more skeins in the next couple of days, as well as start working on my Jacob fleece again.  (I also picked up a copy of this book, which I am devouring).  In the meantime, here’s a look at the elderberry yarns:

From left to right: natural Merino overdyed with elderberry, cream-colored Corriedale cross, and overdyed grey Shetland.  The color here is much more subtle than with the madder, especially on the colored wool, but I like the pale Champagne color on the cream colored yarn and the soft gold tones on the other two.

14 thoughts on “Dog trauma

  1. Oh the poor thing! I am glad to see that he is feeling better, even if he will have to adjust to being in a cage so he can heal fully. I understand about feeling your heart break to put a pet in a cage or its own room alone. We had to do that with one of our kittens when she was spayed because she was so active afterward, the vet was afraid that she would rip open her stitches. She was drama-queen level sad for a while but the adjusted pretty well. Hopefully your pup will adjust fairly well too.

    He’s a real cutie though! I bet he’s a bit of a ham 😉

    • Thank you! We actually had that problem with one of our cats too, when she was spayed. She did NOT like being caged at all, any more than Corbie does.

      He is not happy about his confinement and is VERY much a ham about it. (Total emo dog.) The poor thing.

  2. He is SUCH the Best Dog Ever, and so so so good! It’s ridiculous how good he is. Oh, the goodness. I’m sure the frequent treats of blueberries aren’t hurting. So awesome. So wonderful. So amazing.

  3. I hope your dog feels better! I had a mini-dachshund for many years, so I know about the problems those low-to-the-ground dogs can have.

  4. I hope your poor cub recovers quickly. If you haven’t encountered the idea before, a good chiropractor might also be able to help. My husband is one, and has adjusted a number of animals with back and neck problems to great effect. If you’d like help finding one in your area (we’re out on the East Coast, sadly), please let me know.

    In any case, we’ll keep your little guy in our thoughts.

    • Thank you! 🙂 And thanks for the suggestion; I didn’t know chiropractors could treat dogs. I’m sure there are practitioners out here, though; I’ll ask his vet if she thinks that might be a good option for him.

  5. I’m sorry to hear about your cute, little dog. I’m glad you got medical attention for him and he’s feeling better. Do you do any energy healing? Therapeutic Touch can be very helpful for our animal friends and is easy to do and calming and loving for them. I understand how you feel about confining him but it is for his own good so try to let those sad feelings around having to do this go. It’s better for you both.

    Nice work with your new flyer and the elderberry dye jobs! Love those soft gray tones. OMG! Fleece-Fiber Sourcebook is at the top of my wish list for my next book buying spree! I’ve wanted a book like it for some time.

    • Thanks! Jo and I both do Reiki, but we’re nervous about handling him too much right now so it will have to be semi-distance. And believe me, we aren’t going to feel so sorry for him that we relax his confinement at all, no matter how miserable he looks; we know it’s for the best. (Paralyzation is a scary possibiity.)

      It’s an awesome, awesome book. I was on the wait list for it at our local library but got tired of waiting (they don’t even have a copy yet). It was going to be a birthday present for myself next month but what with all the trauma I decided deserved to have it a bit early.

  6. Aww he looks like such a pretty dog. I shall send him all the positive energy I can~ :o) I hope he gets feeling better really fast!

Comments are closed.