Clan of the cave bear

Up until the past year or so, the Odin-connected animals I gravitated towards most strongly were ravens, wolves and snakes.  But although my connection to those remains strong, recently another animal associated with Odin has been calling to me more and more and occasionally even showing up in my dreams: bear.

Bears aren’t the first animal (or the third) you’d normally connect with Odin, but one of His heiti (or by-names) does mean bear, and there’s also a connection through the berserkers or “bear shirts,” warriors especially devoted to Odin who wore bear pelts underneath their armor in battle.  As a spirit ally, bear’s areas of expertise are leadership, shamanism, wisdom, and unrestrained power, all of which also fits with Odin’s persona and spheres of influence quite well.

I mention all of the above because I wanted to share a rather spectacular find I picked up at the Gem Faire on Saturday: a cave bear molar.  My partner Jolene actually called my attention to it, and unfortunately it was too expensive to use as a component in my Animal Allies jewelry–but not too expensive to acquire one for myself, which I did, and promptly wire-wrapped it when we got home  so I could wear it right away.

And speaking of my jewelry, the Tree Spirit Vessel necklaces should finally be going up at my Etsy store this weekend, and a big new batch of Animal Ally jewelry and charms–necklaces, bracelets, earrings and more  (with a few plant ally pieces as well) is in the works for release during the coming weeks.

3 thoughts on “Clan of the cave bear

  1. Ya know, you’re right–bear isn’t an animal I immediately connect with Odin, although I have read about the berserkers. But that being said, I have noticed myself drawn to bear alot lately. Quite interesting methinks~ Wow that necklace is awesome! It always surprises me how big bear teeth actually are!

  2. Ya know, you’re right–bear is not an animal I immediately connect with Odin, although I have read about the berskers. That being said, I have been drawn to bear myself lately. Quite interesting~ That necklace is awesome! It always surprises me how big bear teeth are!

    • Bears are such awesome creatures, in the fullest sense of that word. I have a modern black bear molar too, and this is about twice its size–which makes sense, considering that cave bears are supposed to have been about the size of the largest modern bears: Kodiak and polar bears. And bears are pure strength and power…quite the formidable ally to have in your corner!

Comments are closed.