Not dead yet

Last weekend I had a dream involving my mother (who has been deceased since just before my thirtieth birthday, about 15 years ago now) and my boss, our company VP.  In the dream I was in a two-story house and my mother was in bed sick upstairs.  I’d run upstairs to check on her and she’d send me downstairs to get something.  On my way downstairs, I’d run into my boss, who would send me back upstairs to do something for him.  This went on, up and down, back and forth, until I was almost too exhausted to move and it was only by sheer force of will that I kept myself struggling up and down.

It was clearly an anxiety dream (my boss isn’t nearly so demanding or high-maintenance as that, for one thing), but was also prescient on several levels.  This past week has been a lot like the dream, with a seemingly endless amount of work to do and not enough time in which to do it, and no time at all to spare for the things I prefer doing—like crafting, or writing up posts to share here.  Although it has been an emotionally turbulent week in a lot of ways, even that has had to take a backseat to the staggering amount of work that needs to get done.

I’m not comfortable going into more detail quite yet, so for now I’ll just leave it at this: there is big news, and mostly it’s even good.  But I won’t have time or the right mindset to write more until next week.

As you can see, this blog is currently undergoing some remodeling too, but at this point even that will need to wait a bit.

1 thought on “Not dead yet”

Comments are closed.