Where eagles fly

Birds are the messengers of Asgard–not just corvids, but raptors, water birds, even pigeons and sparrows, all of the creatures that fly between land and sky.  Birds abound in Asgard itself, and one of the joys for me of living here in Eugene is that we are also blessed with an abundance of them. The water birds have a special connection with Frigga, and throughout my years of working in the West Eugene Wetlands I’ve had numerous sightings of the Great Blue Egrets who make their home there.

But there is one other special bird that thrives in the wetlands: golden eagles.  In the office where I work part time, I’m often able to look up and see them (along with smaller raptors and lots and lots of crows) wheeling through the sky outside the 2nd floor window. On my walks home, they sometimes trail me, far overhead.  They have a sense of humor, these birds, and at times it seems like a game to them, to see how low they can swoop down and circle above me without making me nervous.  Eagles are Odin’s birds–not as famously so as ravens, perhaps, but His all the same; He took eagle form to escape with the Mead of Poetry, and one of His numerous heiti (bynames) is Arnhofdi (“eagle-headed”).  If an eagle ever turns its head to look at you straight-on, and you know Odin, you’ll have no trouble understanding this appellation.

As I was walking to work on Wednesday morning, a juvenile golden eagle swooped down, the golden under-fluff of his wings catching the sun, circled once above my head, and then alighted on a street lamp dead ahead of me.  He sat there, turning his head to preen his feathers a bit, and waited as I approached.  I held my breath, but he let me walk right underneath him and stand there.  It was the closest I’ve ever been to an eagle in the wild. He even let me snap a few pictures on my phone.

IMG_20140806_103450

And then he turned his head and looked directly at me with his sharp, sharp, beak and piercing eagle-gaze.

Well? the look said. “Are you really serious about taking back your power? Are you really going to do it, or are you going to equivocate and make excuses and worry about what people might think?”

I won’t go into what, specifically, this was in answer to.  But to say it was a spot-on omen might just be the understatement of the decade.

He sat there for a few minutes for, letting me admire him, and then took off–but not very far, only to the next light ahead of me.  He waited until I passed him, then took to the skies again, point made.

I am who and what I am.  People will like me, and what I do and stand for, or they won’t.  But to limit and edit myself because they might not like me, might feel threatened, or might not understand–that’s not claiming my power, that’s letting it leak out and giving it away. I’ve played that game before.  It was no one’s fault but my own and I’m not laying blame anywhere, but I’m done with it now.

I know I’ve asked this before, but what leaks have you found in your own power that need to be patched up?  Where are you taking back what you should never have given away?

7 thoughts on “Where eagles fly

  1. I was dumbfounded when I saw this post. Yesterday a red tail hawk turned up injured in the front of my apartment building (I live in the city) as a sign in response to an issue I am dealing with, then today as I ponder its implications, I find your entry with even more connections between Odin and birds! I never fail to be astounded at the synchronicity the Tree doles out.

    • I strongly associate red tail hawks with Freyja, although Frigga would also be a fair association, FWIW.

      I have more often associated Eagles with Skadhi (for the form Her father took repeatedly) than Odin, that’s very interesting!

      A Friggaswoman I know had a … I want to say stork, but I’m not remembering which long-necked shorebird it was. Maybe it was an egret… living in the tree outside her house for years.

      -E-

  2. When I first set up an altar for Odin, I put an image of a wolf on it, but before too long, I got the sense He wanted an eagle (which I didn’t clearly recall being one of His animals, but it made sense, and I wasn’t going to argue regardless), and so I replaced the wolf with a picture of an eagle, and eventually, with a (really horrible crudely made) hand-made sculpture of an eagle. -I- know it’s an eagle but I’m not sure how obvious it would be to anyone else >.<. He seems to appreciate it regardless. I've seen eagles in Portland a few times, which has been pretty awesome (once being chased by some of the local osprey).
    This is timely – "leaks in power" – I've been dealing with (again, this morning) another fun-go-round of ex-husband baggage, courtesy of Loki, with nudges to do /something/ not entirely defined yet (though He has pushed on some specific things in very clear ways, and that was very much unfun). Well, shit, I guess I better get out of avoidance mode here, this is at least the 2nd thing I've read today that seems Relevant.

  3. What kind of message do pigons give? Theres a pigon that sits in my east liveing room window what should i listen for??

    • Well, I’m honestly not an expert on all the symbolism of individual birds; I would tend to reply more on what your experiences with pigeons in general have been, as well as what your gods and/or spirits are saying about this interaction. You can also look to see whether any of the gods you currently deal with (or Who might be calling to you) have the pigeon or dove (as the city pigeon is actually a rock dove) as one of Their sacred birds. But this is from the Animal Spirit Totem Dictionary online, and might get you started thinking:

      Pigeon teaches many lessons of home: love, security, fertility and family. He teaches us to remember home life for answers and the importance of family communication with a sense of togetherness. Pigeon shows how to bring peace, love and understanding to situations and teaches us the art of communication and cooperation. Is it time to call a family member or take a trip home? Are you listening to the hints of family members? Are you compassionate toward others? Perhaps it is a time for forgiveness? It is a time to express appreciation and gratitude of brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles and parents for family brings us unconditional sense of belonging.

      The site has listing for a lot of different birds, and you can find it here: http://www.starstuffs.com/animal_totems/dictionary_of_birds.htm

Comments are closed.