A month for Odin

I was originally planning to post about this closer to the beginning of December, but then I figured what better time than today, the 9th day of what used to be the 9th month of the year–nine being Odin’s sacred number, the total of the nights He hung on the World Tree, Yggdrasil, in His quest for the Mysteries.  As a nice bonus, it’s also Friday, the day of Frigga, patroness of marriage, Who has taught me so many things about my own, and about how to be a wife to the Husband She and I share.

On December 4th, 2002, I took what was at that time a very unusual step into the unknown: I gave my hand, heart and body in marriage to a god, Odin.  Nowadays, this is not nearly as uncommon an action as it was back then, and although there were some who supported me–either enthusiastically or grudgingly, after I had won their respect–there were many more who scoffed, and a few who considered that I would lose interest or faith in time and turn my attention to other things.  There were only a couple of examples, at that time, of people who had done anything similar and were able to say they had stuck with it for the long haul.

Well, now it is 2012, and next month on December 4th Odin–my Husband–and I will be celebrating our 10th anniversary.  I have not inflated or exaggerated this time frame in any way; anyone can do the math.  And I can truly say that my love and passion for my Husband–and, I hope, His for me–grows with each passing day.  I am more deeply in love with Him with every breath I take.

To those who supported me at any point along the way (and you know who you are), know that you will always have my heartfelt thanks, even if we are no longer in each other’s lives at present.  To those who scoffed, well, time is the final arbiter in these things, isn’t it?

But to get to the point of this post: as one of many anniversary gifts I have planned for my Beloved, I am dedicating the entire month of December–our anniversary month–to Odin.  I am NOT going to be posting something about Him to this blog on each day of that month, however, for while I can certainly see the point of such a devotional exercise, for me it would put the emphasis on the wrong things, on sharing with other people rather than with Him.  I WILL, however, be sharing SOME writings and anecdotes about Him and my path with Him as I see fit, as well as photos of things I make for Him during that month.  (Since my spiritual path is that of a Maker and not only a writer, I expect to be crafting a number of things as gifts for Him.)

I plan on being mostly offline for the entire 12 days of Yule.

One other reason I am posting about this early on is that although I will be leaving my Etsy store open during December, I will NOT be accepting any custom orders during that entire month.  So if you have anything in mind that you’ve been waiting to approach me about along those lines, you might want to mention it now (by sending me an Etsy convo); I can’t make any promises, but I’ll see what I can do.

6 thoughts on “A month for Odin

  1. Sooooooo . . . . .

    As you might already know, I think this is a fabulous idea. It still astounds me that there are so many godspouses out and about these days — not that that’s a bad thing, but it’s such a change in such a relatively small time. (Possibly it’s not *that* new but people are newly vocal about it? Hard to know.) Ten years is a pretty big deal, as any sort of mile-stone. So, YAY!

    • Thank you! Of course without your support I’m not sure I would have made it this long! There is a lot to be said for surrounding yourself with people who accept and support your experiences and your reality, and you have been the most essential person in my life of all, in this regard.

      There ARE a lot more than there were then; either that, or they are just a lot more vocal. At the time I took my own vows, I had to look at the examples of Vodou and Catholic nuns; I only knew of one other person who was public about being in such a relationship with Odin, or with any non-Vodou god, and she turned out to be hostile very quickly.

    • Gorgeous! Yes, I have seen another Odin statue by this artist on Facebook and plan to commission one from him, eventually. Thanks for the link! :)

  2. Pingback: Ask me about Odin « Wytch of the North

  3. Pingback: New felt jewelry and other projects, plus some spiritual rambling « Fensalir Fiber Art

Comments are closed.